Meet The Authors at utopYA: Teal Haviland

Meet the Authors at utopYA is a series of blog posts where we introduce you to all the amazing writers who will be in attendance at the first ever utopYA convention. Some will be on panels, some will be exhibitors, some will be keynote speakers, and all are living the dream.

We asked the authors 5 questions we wanted to know, and hope that you find them informative and entertaining. These authors were hand-picked, so you’ll definitely want to read their amazing books if you haven’t yet. Get ready, because this is only the beginning.

Meet the Author: Teal Haviland, The Reaping Chronicles

20120522-124630.jpg

Teal Haviland lives in Tennessee with her daughter and several four-legged friends. She enjoys photography, travel, reading, music, cooking, daydreaming, and above all spending time with her family and friends.

Teal grew up with a love for anything fantastical or outrageous. After years of dreaming of a world where fairies, angels, demons, and shape shifters (to name a few) existed, she finally decided to write some of her stories down. Gabrielle Rising, book one in her series The Reaping Chronicles, is her first published novel.

1. What’s your idea of ‘utopia’?

TH: My idea of utopia . . . a place where people don’t make life more difficult than it needs to be, life is an unending adventure with my best friend (who happens to also be my soul mate and lover) by my side every day, my daughter has unimaginable peace and happiness, and I can eat whatever I want and remain a toned size 6 goddess!!! OH! Aaaand, that I get to travel the world while continuing to write fabulous books and take amazing photographs.

2. Who influenced you to become a fabulous young adult paranormal author?

TH: My love for writing came at a very early age, however I stopped writing in high school due to getting praise for a story I had written and some twisted thing in my head about stopping anything I did that I received accolade for. I know, I know . . . don’t ask me to explain my reasoning, because I can’t. And, it made me miss many years of doing something I am passionate about. What influenced me to pick writing back up again and see if I could still do it, was the incredible Nashville Writers Meetup group I became involved with, and the talented people I met that continued to influence me and who I am also proud to now call many of those writers my friend.

3. Paper or digital media?

TH: Both! I think that there will always be a significant number of die-hard traditional book readers (like myself) who will always want the smell, feel, and weight of a book in their hands, But, things are what they are, and we live in a digitally driven world. Publishing/authors have to keep up with that reality . . . or suffer the same fate that many record labels and companies faced when the same happened to their industry.

20120522-124137.jpg

4. Do you have an “end of book” ritual (that you’re willing to share…)?

TH: I have only finished the first book in my series, so I am not sure if it’s a ritual, yet, but I have to admit that I ran around the house doing the “Rocky” run while singing the tune from the movie. Then, proceeded to turn on some fabulous techno/house music and shook my booty for about 15 minutes.

5. What do you hope to get out of UtopYA Con 2012?

TH: I hope to meet other authors and readers who, like myself, adore the YA books that have to do with my favorite fictional topic . . . fantastical worlds and the creatures that inhabit them.

For the latest information about Teal Haviland, visit her online at www.facebook.com/thereapingchronicles

Leave a Reply

