Meet The Authors At utopYA: Brina Courtney

Meet the Authors at utopYA is a series of blog posts where we introduce you to all the amazing writers who will be in attendance at the first ever utopYA convention. Some will be on panels, some will be exhibitors, some will be keynote speakers, and all are living the dream.

We asked the authors 5 questions we wanted to know, and hope that you find them informative and entertaining. These authors were hand-picked, so you’ll definitely want to read their amazing books if you haven’t yet. Get ready, because this is only the beginning.

Meet The Author: Brina Courtney, The Cryptid Tales Series

20120529-105041.jpg

Brina Courtney is a young adult author obsessed with chocolate, crime shows, and fantasy movies. She’s spent the last few years as a beauty queen and elementary teacher. She currently spends a lot of time coaching high school cheerleading and teaching first graders how to love books. She lives in a small town in Pennsylvania with her husband and two very loud, small dogs.

1. What’s your idea of ‘utopia’?

Utopia is a place of calmness and peace. I have this distinct feeling there would be a waterfall and a grassy hill in mine, somewhere with a blanket to curl up in. And there would be chocolate covered strawberries and a picnic basket, because as we all know, I’m the foodie of the group.

2. Who influenced you to become a fabulous young adult paranormal author?

What a compliment! Other writers I guess mostly, and my students. I coach high school cheering and I teach elementary kids. Both of those groups are all about taking risks and doing whatever they feel like. So I fell into their shoes for just a moment and started writing. Then I got EXTREMELY lucky and met some of the amazing authors coming to this con and they suggested I try my hand at it. The rest is history, or my future, not quite sure.

3. Paper or digital media?

Digital! I read super-fast, thanks Mom for teaching me, and so I like to carry twenty books on vacation. Do you know how heavy that many books are? I am lazy, it’s vacation, not the weight lifting championship of books or something. Pass me my K-fire please!

20120529-105317.jpg

4. Do you have an “end of book” ritual (that you’re willing to share…)?

I dance, openly, in the streets, or my classroom, bathroom wherever I am that it hits me that I just finished writing another novel. I sing loudly and off- key and shake my booty. I belly dance so I have mad booty shaking abilities. Then usually someone walks in and I stop, or move to somewhere else and continue to dance. Occasionally my husband joins in, but it’s not pretty.

5. What do you hope to get out of UtopYA Con 2012?

I can’t even tell you how excited I am to be amongst some of the best minds of YA paranormal and fantasy writers. I will probably fangirl out multiple times, so I hope to just meet people and not act ridiculous. When I get home I hope to take away some fabulous new advice, readers, and friends. I really like making friends, and not in a creepy stalker way, promise. AND this is my first time in TN so that’s something else to look forward to!

For more information about Brina Courtney, visit her website http://brinacourtney.blogspot.com

2 thoughts on “Meet The Authors At utopYA: Brina Courtney

  1. Brina, I’m a foodie, too! And I know some scrumptious places to eat in Nashville. You and me, we’ll have fun. ;)

Leave a Reply

