Meet The Authors At utopYA: Raine Thomas

Meet the Authors at utopYA is a series of blog posts where we introduce you to all the amazing writers who will be in attendance at the first ever utopYA convention. Some will be on panels, some will be exhibitors, some will be keynote speakers, and all are living the dream.

We asked the authors 5 questions we wanted to know, and hope that you find them informative and entertaining. These authors were hand-picked, so you’ll definitely want to read their amazing books if you haven’t yet. Get ready, because this is only the beginning.

Meet The Author: Raine Thomas, Daugters Of Saraqael Series

20120625-225037.jpgRaine Thomas is the author of a popular series of YA fantasy romance novels and short stories about the Estilorian plane, including the Daughters of Saraqael trilogy, the Firstborn trilogy and The Prophecy. She is a proud member of Romance Writers of America and is a contributing blogger to The Writer’s Voice. When she isn’t planning weddings, writing or glued to social networking sites, she can usually be found on one of Florida’s beautiful beaches with her husband and daughter or crossing the border to visit with her Canadian friends and relatives.

1. What’s your idea of ‘utopia’?

Ahhh…utopia, the perfect place! My personal utopia would be a beautiful house on a tropical beach with a huge library and a study overlooking the ocean, so I can write in peace and solitude whenever the mood strikes. I’d have my husband, daughter and furry friends along with me, and there would never be a dirty dish to clean or laundry pile to fold. Oh—and there’d be a Mexican fiesta at least once a week!

2. Who influenced you to become a fabulous young adult paranormal author?

My daughter did. Although she’s only six, it was because I wanted to write books that she could enjoy with her friends when she gets older that I decided to write YA. My favorite genres to read are romance, paranormal and fantasy, so it was natural for me to write those kinds of books.

3. Paper or digital media?

I’m a huge fan of my Kindle! Having the ability to load tons of eBooks onto one easily transportable device is like a slice of utopia all on its own. Yes, I definitely still enjoy reading paperbacks, but I’ve converted to the e-side.

20120625-225013.jpg

4. Do you have an “end of book” ritual (that you’re willing to share…)?

I don’t, actually! It’s an exciting and euphoric feeling to finish a book, but I know that the end of that first draft is just one more step in the process. Then comes the hard part: editing. If I decide to create a ritual, though, it will involve a large margarita and plenty of chips and salsa.

5. What do you hope to get out of UtopYA Con 2012?

I’m very much looking forward to meeting fellow authors, readers and other great folks in this industry. I hope to pick up some interesting tips from my peers that I can apply to my own writing, and I’d love to make some new friends along the way!

Leave a Reply

