Meet The Authors At utopYA: Ella James

Meet the Authors at utopYA is a series of blog posts where we introduce you to all the amazing writers who will be in attendance at the first ever utopYA convention. Some will be on panels, some will be exhibitors, some will be keynote speakers, and all are living the dream.

We asked the authors 5 questions we wanted to know, and hope that you find them informative and entertaining. These authors were hand-picked, so you’ll definitely want to read their amazing books if you haven’t yet. Get ready, because this is only the beginning.

Meet The Author: Ella James, The Stained Series
20120625-231026.jpg

Ella James is the author of Stained and Stolen, books one and two in the Stained Series; HERE, book one in an unusual sci-fi romance trilogy; and Before You Go, a YA romance that tells the first meeting of Logan and Margo, who will be featured in her upcoming adult release, Over The Moon. She has a YA paranormal romance release scheduled for almost every month of 2012, including Chosen (Stained Book Three) in June and the second HERE book in July. Ella is inviting readers to help her write a shapeshifter romance novel, which is plotted via polls and questions on her blog and her Facebook page. Ella lives in Birmingham, Alabama, with her wonderful husband, opinionated baby, and mopey dog. You can visit her blog at http://www.ellajamesbooks.blogspot.com.

1. What’s your idea of ‘utopia’?

In keeping with the Sir Thomas More version of Utopia, we all live on an island. We tend our own crops and raise our own cattle and we go fishing in the sea. Unless of course we are vegetarians; then we don’t. We live in beautiful cottages under a blue sky, close enough to the cliffside to hear the ocean all the time. We start and end our day READING! And in the middle of the day…we read then, too. We belong to a rare bibliotribe whose opinions are highly sought after; authors from all over the world send us their books to sample.

2. Who influenced you to become a fabulous young adult paranormal author?

Teachers who thought that because I wasn’t a good student, I couldn’t be a good writer. I got accused of plagiarism three times in K-12! =/ In college, I had to attend a big, scary meeting and almost got kicked out. No one could believe a “C” student could write. When people saw my writing skills compared to all my other skills, I think they figured it was my best (read: only) shot. Between then and now, I’ve been a lousy and/or miserable law firm receptionist, newspaper saleswoman, computer repair chick, clothes store manager, magazine manager, tutor, designer, social worker, news reporter, and waitress. But I can start and finish a book!

3. Paper or digital media?

Digital all the way. I never in a million years thought I’d feel that way, but that was before I got my Kindle Fire.

20120625-231033.jpg
4. Do you have an “end of book” ritual (that you’re willing to share…)?

When I finish writing a book, I usually have a big night off and have a glass of pinot grigio, watch a good movie, eat a good meal, take a long bath, and make my husband give me a back rub. Sometimes I even go to the beach or on on a hiking trip. But usually the next day I’m desperate to start on the next book!

5. What do you hope to get out of UtopYA Con 2012?

I’d like to meet some of the awesome authors I’ve gotten to know online and some of the ones I haven’t. I’d also like to meet the people who read my books – and of course, the ones who haven’t yet.

Leave a Reply

