Meet The Authors At utopYA: L.M. Davis

Meet the Authors at utopYA is a series of blog posts where we introduce you to all the amazing writers who will be in attendance at the first ever utopYA convention. Some will be on panels, some will be exhibitors, some will be keynote speakers, and all are living the dream.

We asked the authors 5 questions we wanted to know, and hope that you find them informative and entertaining. These authors were hand-picked, so you’ll definitely want to read their amazing books if you haven’t yet. Get ready, because this is only the beginning.

Meet The Author: L.M. Davis, The Shifters Novel Series

20120630-164305.jpg

L. M. Davis loves great storytelling. She needs nothing more than a good book and a comfy chair to be happy. She was born in the south, raised in the north, and has a few degrees under her belt. She still hasn’t gotten her black cat, but she thinks about it everyday. Her thoughts go something like this: “I really should get a cat.” For now, she contents herself with spoiling the pets of her friends and family. Posers is the second book in the Shifters Novel series.

1. What’s your idea of ‘utopia’?

A place where everyone reads and loves fantasy fiction.

2. Who influenced you to become a fabulous young adult paranormal author?

I grew up reading Madeline L’Engle (A Wrinkle in Time), Virginia Hamilton (Justice and Her Brothers) and Susan Cooper (The Dark Is Rising). These authors created wonderful, complex, timeless, magical worlds that are absolutely enrapturing. They wrote the kind of books that you read again and again. If I can write stories like those…well, that’s all I need.

3. Paper or digital media?

Call me old-fashioned, but I love everything about the experience of reading a paper book. There’s nothing like curling up in an over-sized chair with a thick book for the day. On the other hand, I am loving what digital media can bring to the reading experience. The possibilities of immersing the reader entirely into the world of the book, using sound and image, along with the words.

20120630-165036.jpg
4. Do you have an “end of book” ritual (that you’re willing to share…)?

Whenever I finish a book–at the very moment of completion–I have to go outside. I go outdoors and just sit for a long time. There is a pond down the street from my house where I particularly like to go. I take deep breaths and let my mind go blank. So often, to finish a project, I have been sitting in front of a screen for hours on end for several weeks. I have to get out and breathe the air and kind of reconnect with the world. It’s like meditation or something. Boring ritual, I know, but it’s just what the doctor ordered.

5. What do you hope to get out of UtopYA Con 2012?

I love the opportunity to meet and talk to other authors. I always learn something new. I am really excited to gather together at a conference that celebrates the writing of women authors. It’s going to be good times.

One thought on “Meet The Authors At utopYA: L.M. Davis

Leave a Reply

