Meet The Authors At utopYA: Stacey Rourke

Meet the Authors at utopYA is a series of blog posts where we introduce you to all the amazing writers who will be in attendance at the first ever utopYA convention. Some will be on panels, some will be exhibitors, some will be keynote speakers, and all are living the dream.

We asked the authors 5 questions we wanted to know, and hope that you find them informative and entertaining. These authors were hand-picked, so you’ll definitely want to read their amazing books if you haven’t yet. Get ready, because this is only the beginning.

Meet The Author: Stacey Rourke, Magic The Gryphon Series

20120702-205051.jpg

Stacey Rourke is the author of the laugh-out-loud Gryphon Series with The Conduit and Embrace available now and Sacrifice releasing this fall. She lives in Michigan with her husband, two beautiful daughters, and two giant, drooly dogs. She also happens to be the Owner/CEO of Anchor Group Publishing. Currently she’s hard at work on the continuations of her hilarious adventure series, as well as other literary projects.

1. What’s your idea of ‘utopia’?

Toes in the sand, sun on my face, and a fruity drink with an umbrella in it in my hand.

2. Who influenced you to become a fabulous young adult paranormal author?

While many other authors influenced my desire to write, my biggest motivation came from my children. I have two little girls and for THEM I wanted to create a butt-kickin’ female character that they could relate to. Celeste is an ordinary girl that just happens to be able to bench press a Volkswagen. The last thing she needs is for a knight in shining armor to swoop in and save her. It’s my opinion that young girls need more role models like that.

3. Paper or digital media?

Both. I usually “try out” books on my Kindle and if I like them I go buy a print copy. I find I engage in the story more when I can hold a print book in my hands. Plus, I love going to the bookstore and getting lost in the shelves delving into all the books I have yet to read.

20120702-205058.jpg
4. Do you have an “end of book” ritual (that you’re willing to share…)?

Head back, knees high and Snoopy dancing like no one is watching.

5. What do you hope to get out of UtopYA Con 2012?

I want to meet new people, maybe introduce my series to readers that haven’t heard of it yet and connect with other friends and fans of the YA Fantasy genre to talk about a subject close to my heart–BOOKS!

Fir more from Stacey, visit her at www.staceyrourke.com

Leave a Reply

