Meet The Authors At utopYA: K.C. Neal

Meet the Authors at utopYA is a series of blog posts where we introduce you to all the amazing writers who will be in attendance at the first ever utopYA convention. Some will be on panels, some will be exhibitors, some will be keynote speakers, and all are living the dream.

We asked the authors 5 questions we wanted to know, and hope that you find them informative and entertaining. These authors were hand-picked, so you’ll definitely want to read their amazing books if you haven’t yet. Get ready, because this is only the beginning.

Meet The Author: K.C. Neal, Pyxis Series

20120702-210701.jpg

Young adult fantasy author K.C. Neal’s first novel, Pyxis: The Discovery (StoneHouse Ink) released in 2011, and the sequel, Alight: The Peril (StoneHouse Ink) will release this summer. K.C. is a co-founder of StoneHouse University, an educational resource for authors. Most of her days are filled with some combination of writing, reading, gardening, working, and watching stuff on Netflix with her husband and their maltipoo, Oscar. She has an irrational fixation with L.A., and during occasional trips there she pretends her life is more glamorous than it really is (“Entourage” is her guilty pleasure). She likes to surf and hang out on palm tree-lined beaches.

1. What’s your idea of ‘utopia’?

I have to admit I had to sit here and stare at this question for several minutes. It’s deceptively profound. Or maybe I’m just over-thinking… yeah, I’m probably over-thinking. AGAIN. Ahem… My idea of utopia: A state of things that allows everyone to pursue what brings them highest fulfillment.

2. Who influenced you to become a fabulous young adult paranormal author?

My husband has been writing and playing music for most of his life, and I think his creativity inspired me to try writing fiction. I’m not sure he wants to take credit for the “fabulous” part, though. Heehee.

3. Paper or digital media?

I love paper, don’t get me wrong, but I live a good portion of my life online and earn a living through digital media, so… YAY DIGITAL! :)

20120702-210706.jpg
4. Do you have an “end of book” ritual (that you’re willing to share…)?

I really don’t, not yet, anyway. Maybe when I’ve written a few more books I’ll develop one. I’m thinking something along the lines of a trip to the Bahamas. (I WISH.)

5. What do you hope to get out of UtopYA Con 2012?

I hope to get some great friendships, and maybe a few new ideas. I am SO excited to meet the other authors who are attending. Some of them I’ve been chatting with online for well over a year, but I haven’t met any of them in person yet, and I think it’s going to be amazing to finally get to speak to so many online friends IRL! I’m equally excited to meet some of my book blogger friends and readers in person.

Leave a Reply

