Meet The Authors At utopYA: L.M. Preston

Meet the Authors at utopYA is a series of blog posts where we introduce you to all the amazing writers who will be in attendance at the first ever utopYA convention. Some will be on panels, some will be exhibitors, some will be keynote speakers, and all are living the dream.

We asked the authors 5 questions we wanted to know, and hope that you find them informative and entertaining. These authors were hand-picked, so you’ll definitely want to read their amazing books if you haven’t yet. Get ready, because this is only the beginning.

Meet The Author: L.M. Preston, The Pack Series

20120620-115906.jpg

LM. Preston worked in the IT field as a Techie and Educator for over sixteen years. She started writing science fiction under the encouragement of her husband who was a Sci-Fi buff and her four kids. While serving as Vice President of Mid Atlantic Book Publishers Association, she also is a Moderator for Yalitchat.org and recruits Literary Agents for the Maryland Writers Conference. Her works include Middle Grade Series, Explorer X. Also, Young adult series are The Pack, Bandits and Purgatory Reign. Her short Young Adult Urban romance, Flutter Of Luv releases July 28th, 2012.

1. What’s your idea of ‘utopia’?
Utopia for me is that blissful feeling I get when I build an amazing world for my characters. It’s my mental vacation all created withing the recesses of my mind.
2. Who influenced you to become a fabulous young adult paranormal author?
My husband actually. It all started on a long car trip to Florida. My husband, kids and I were on our way to my ‘Happy Place’. Ok, I’ll admit it. I am still a big kid. I love to play, and imagine. Anyway, while on this long drive, my husband turns to me and says, “You should write a book. You loved to write when we were younger and you haven’t written since. I thought about what his said and replied,” Well, I did try to write that one book, but it was boring and didn’t keep my interest.” Then he told me,” You should write science fiction. You like it, and you work in the IT field. That way you have no boundaries, you create your own.”
3. Paper or digital media?
We started publishing before ebooks were popular. Originally, we published in paperback only, then after a year of publishing added ebooks to the formats we published.

20120620-115911.jpg

4. Do you have an “end of book” ritual (that you’re willing to share…)?
My end of book ritual is usually to tear up. My characters become so real to me that I actually hate ending the books.
5. What do you hope to get out of UtopYA Con 2012?
I can’t wait to meet other authors and newbie authors that love writing paranormal, young adult, and are seeking time to build their craft and network.
3 thoughts on “Meet The Authors At utopYA: L.M. Preston

  1. Pingback: The Cosmos Just Keeps Laughing « Random and Sundry Things

  2. Pingback: The Cosmos Just Keeps Laughing (Updated) – PagesThatWow.com – Sharing Viral Content

Leave a Reply

