Meet The Authors At utopYA: Amanda Havard

Meet the Authors at utopYA is a series of blog posts where we introduce you to all the amazing writers who will be in attendance at the first ever utopYA convention. Some will be on panels, some will be exhibitors, some will be keynote speakers, and all are living the dream.

We asked the authors 5 questions we wanted to know, and hope that you find them informative and entertaining. These authors were hand-picked, so you’ll definitely want to read their amazing books if you haven’t yet. Get ready, because this is only the beginning.

Meet The Author: Amanda Havard, The Survivors Series

20120610-221940.jpg

Amanda Havard has been telling stories since before she could write. She grew up in Dallas, Texas, where her first book was published in her elementary school library at age 7. She received bachelor’s and master’s degrees in education from Vanderbilt University. She currently resides in Nashville, Tennessee with her baby grand piano and more story ideas than she could tell in one lifetime.

1. What’s your idea of ‘utopia’?
My utopia is a place where story ideas come out from the pavement, and everyone spends their time talking about those ideas, how they fit together, and what they could become. Of course, it wouldn’t hurt if this mythical place were a badass town with a great sense of style.

2. Who influenced you to become a fabulous young adult paranormal author?

So many people! I’ve always said my teachers growing up were HUGE influences. I’ve been into storytelling since I was a little kid, and I had teachers all through school who supported that, encouraged my creative spirit, and gave me opportunity to write stories. From there, everything I’ve ever seen, touched, heard, read, or interacted with has been an influence on me. Absolutely everything.

3. Paper or digital media?

What a question for me! Of course I love print books. Gutenberg did us a solid with the printing press. But I’m most excited about where digital media can take our stories. It is not enough to just put a book page on a screen. That’s a formatting change, not an evolutionary step. But the evolutionary steps we are taking, like with the Immersedition book apps, excite the hell out of me. What kind of story will we figure out how to tell next? And how will that differ from our current book experiences? And yet how will it remain the same? These are the exciting questions I’m ready to ask.

20120610-221959.jpg4. Do you have an “end of book” ritual (that you’re willing to share…)?

I do not! Each one has been different, and sometimes I wonder if they’re really done until I’m holding a finished copy in my hand.

5. What do you hope to get out of UtopYA Con 2012?

The best part of the job is meeting new fans, making new friends, and collaborating with people who live in the same headspace I do. I can’t wait to get to UtopYA Con to catch up with some existing friends and make new ones with other fabulous women authors who make their way to the event.

For morefrom Amanda Havard, visit her Website: www.amandahavard.com

2 thoughts on “Meet The Authors At utopYA: Amanda Havard

Leave a comment